Constructive Criticism

Constructive criticism is polite and/or respectful remarks that has a goal of improving some area of another’s person’s life or work. Often constructive criticism refers specifically to the critique of someone else’s academic or job related work.  In a work environment, a supervisor or boss may conduct employee evaluations to kindly let workers know their areas that need to be improved. Co-workers can also give each other constructive criticism.  When working with different people and in most cases people who are new to the job, you will have situations where something may be done incorrectly or wrong.  In those cases as a member of a team, you would tell the person where he or she went wrong and ways or ideas to improve the situation so it will not occur again.

The main problem you would face when giving or receiving constructive criticism is that not all people are receptive to it. They may either feel their self-esteem shrinking under criticism, or they may feel that all criticism is negative. This can destroy the intent of constructive criticism.

About seven years ago, I had started working my  first job.  I worked there for three years and I became a trainer.  There was a young lady whom I worked very close with for about a month.  When she was no longer working directly beside me, I would come to work some days and notice her doing a lot of things incorretly.  She would prepare things late, she wasn’t attentive to the customers, and she talked on her phone a lot.

Now I had a problem with it, because I was the person who had trained her and I felt that her work in the beginning reflected my ability to train people.  I was also concerned because, whoever was at work at day, was the team for that day and any negative actions affected everyone.  I decided the next day to pull her to the side and tell her what she was doing incorrectly.  I attempted to make it as positive as I could.  I let her know that if she was unsure about any task to feel free to ask, and I explained to here some of the things that didn’t look good to our employeers, like coming into work on the phone.

She thankfully took my constructive criticism with no problem and I was happy for the response I got from her.  It also made me feel good to be able to to do that and have a good outcome.

I had in my mind that next time I trained anyone I would make sure to throw in some side conversations on how to handle situation lie that in the future.

 

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

